[mythtv-users] how to disable the delete recording option ?

Brad DerManouelian myth at dermanouelian.com
Thu Apr 12 03:40:08 UTC 2007


On Apr 11, 2007, at 8:29 PM, Brian Vermilion wrote:

> One thing i don't think i have ever seen mentioned anywhere, in  
> regard to this topic and other similar topics. Is the idea of Myth  
> "Users". Each user has a different account with differing levels of  
> control and access to features and shows. Account for the kids  
> maybe where you can't delete anything or only delete there own  
> shows that they have "subscribed"/Set to Record. I think that if  
> there was user accounts with the ability each user to "subscribe"  
> to the shows they want to watch. After they are done watching they  
> can delete it from there Watch Recordings but it will still be  
> available for those users who have "subscribed" and haven't watch  
> the program yet. I think this would resolve the problem of someone  
> deleting a recording before someone else got to watch it. I know  
> others must run into this problem in multi users situations  
> roommates or kids. Maybe later i'll write a long more detailed kind  
> response of what i had in my head. But I think this is a bit of the  
> general idea and maybe will give others some ideas. I'd poke around  
> in the code but i have rather limited programming skills very basic  
> C/C++ and Motorola 68k assembly. Though maybe this isn't possible  
> without a major restructure of myth's basic code
> .
> Thank you to everyone in our wonderful Myth Community.

This is already in the feature wishlist.
http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/Feature_Wishlist_% 
28Backend_Addons%29#Parental_controls_.2F_User_permissions
or
http://tinyurl.com/3al4c2

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://mythtv.org/pipermail/mythtv-users/attachments/20070411/044c0442/attachment.htm 


More information about the mythtv-users mailing list