[mythtv-users] Do time servers have the correct time today?

Marco Nelissen marcone at xs4all.nl
Tue Mar 13 05:20:39 UTC 2007


>> I have a Gentoo machine. I emerged timezone-data, but zdump still
>> shows it thinks DST doesn't start until April:
>> 
>> root at mythbox ~ # equery list timezone-data
>> [ Searching for package 'timezone-data' in all categories among: ]
>>  * installed packages
>> [I--] [  ] sys-libs/timezone-data-2007c (0)
>> root at mythbox ~ # zdump -v /etc/localtime |grep 2007
>> /etc/localtime  Sun Apr  1 09:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Apr  1 01:59:59 2007 PST isdst=0
>> /etc/localtime  Sun Apr  1 10:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Apr  1 03:00:00 2007 PDT isdst=1
>> /etc/localtime  Sun Oct 28 08:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:59:59 2007 PDT isdst=1
>> /etc/localtime  Sun Oct 28 09:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:00:00 2007 PST isdst=0
>> root at mythbox ~ # date
>> Mon Mar 12 07:50:27 PST 2007
>> (That time is off by one hour)
>> 
>> Any suggestions?
>
>Delete /etc/localtime and copy over the correct timezone file to 
>/etc/timezone.
>
>Tom

That did the trick as far as linux is concerned, however now mythtv
itself is off by one hour. It didn't start recording '24' on time
today, and when I started the recording manually, mythtv thought it
was recording the 10 o' clock news (which is on after 24). All upcoming
recordings are off by one hour as well (e.g. it thinks it needs to
record 'Lost' at 9pm, rather than at 10pm when it's actually on).
Running 'mythfilldatabase', as suggested in another thread, did not
solve the problem.



More information about the mythtv-users mailing list