[mythtv-users] AutoExpire: Oldest Show First, yet newly recorded shows still expire...
Michael T. Dean
mtdean at thirdcontact.com
Mon Jul 25 14:38:53 UTC 2011
On 07/25/2011 10:34 AM, Michael T. Dean wrote:
> On 07/25/2011 09:16 AM, Jim Morton wrote:
>> On 7/25/2011 8:56 AM, Mike Perkins wrote:
>>> On 25/07/11 12:50, Jim Morton wrote:
>>>> On 7/23/2011 12:33 PM, Daniel Kristjansson wrote:
>>>>> Why would you want to record a show into the Deleted group?
>>>> That is a handy feature if you want to tie up a tuner at a specific time
>>>> but are not really interested in the recording. For example - your sat
>>>> box phones home at 4am every morning. You schedule a high priority
>>>> recording at 4am for 5 minutes with a priority on that sat box tuner and
>>>> direct it into the deleted group. Now the scheduler will work your real
>>>> recordings around that time.
>>> There's an easy way round it, if recording into the 'Deleted' group is disabled.
>>> Simply record into another group with 'keep 1 episode' set in the rule. It's
>>> only 5 minutes, hardly going to fill up your hard disk, is it?
>> I hope I don't need that 347k. :-)
>> Putting it directly into the deleted group keeps it out of the watch
>> recordings list. It is really not a big deal, just a use I found for
>> that capability. Maybe I'll get lucky and existing rules will be allowed.
> Use the Live TV group. Then it will be deleted tomorrow, and still
> won't show up in Watch Recordings (unless you enable Live TV in watch
Oh, and I should say, will be deleted /off disk/ tomorrow--versus sit
around in the Deleted recording group until your file system fills up,
as would happen if you record to Deleted. (Granted, a keep one with
record new and expire old into the Deleted recording group would also
remove the old episodes from the disk when a new episode records, but
just recording to Live TV requires less configuration for such
behavior. Or, if you set the deleted max age to 1, it would remove all
your Deleted shows off disk after a day--but it would remove /all/ your
Deleted shows from the disk after a day (not just this one).)
More information about the mythtv-users