[mythtv-users] How do I enable Deleted Recordings group?
Michael T. Dean
mtdean at thirdcontact.com
Fri Apr 20 01:04:22 UTC 2012
On 04/19/2012 12:43 PM, Raymond Wagner wrote:
> On 4/19/2012 12:38, Thomas Boehm wrote:
>> Trey Thompson wrote:
>>> I found it.
>>> In the FrontEnd
>>> Setup, Video, General, 2nd page.
>>> The "Time to retain deleted recordings (day):" setting. This
>>> appears to
>>> default to 0. I changed it to 90. Deleted a recording, and now
>>> a "Deleted" group with the recording in it.
>> That is not logical to me as I just wrote in another thread. Why is that
>> setting in mythfrontend? It should be in mythtv-setup.
> Consider it less backend setup, and more settings that require the
> backend be closed for file access, or otherwise restarted for the
> changes to take effect.
>> This setting seems to have changed since the upgrade. I'm pretty sure
>> that my setting was "delete permanently if space is needed" or similar.
>> Now it was set to 0 which means "delete within the next 5 to 20
>> minutes". Maybe it is a new setting and the old one is gone. IIRC it was
>> called differently in 0.24...
> In 0.25, all deletes are now postponed in this manner. It gets marked
> for deletion, and the auto-expirer unlinks it as it sees fit. By
> default, that runs once every 15 minutes, but can be faster if
> recording heavily and low on free space.
And whatever you had set before for auto-expire instead of delete was
"ported" to the new setting:
Time to retain deleted recordings (days)
Determines the maximum number of days before undeleting a recording will
become impossible. A value of zero means the recording will be
permanently deleted between 5 and 20 minutes later. A value of minus one
means recordings will be retained until space is required. A recording
will always be removed before this time if the space is needed for a new
In other words, no capabilities were lost--things were just simplified.
More information about the mythtv-users